New Barn, Part Two

I had my second lesson at the new barn this week and I think it went pretty well. Willow has now met me twice; she’s still a little hmph about me at first but we’re getting along great. I haven’t known her long enough to fully trust her yet, either, but I think I will.

We did another lunge line lesson, and when I said I had a hard time figuring out how I was supposed to apply pressure with my leg to get her to move out into a bigger circle, the instructor had me do some exercises to help pinpoint the motion. Which is so much more than I got at the other barn…. Anyway, yeah. Someone went by on a loud motorcycle (we were outside) and spooked Willow, but I stayed on and it wasn’t even too bad. I was a bit nervous after that but we kept going and were just fine. I gotta say, mounting and dismounting is still iffy on such a tall horse!

And she is super responsive. I accidentally cued her to canter yesterday and we did a few canter strides on the line in a rather small circle, and I didn’t even freak out. I think her canter is probably very smooth.

I have trouble keeping her at a consistent speed but we’ll get there. I really like this horse. And I got to hose her off yesterday. I’ve never done that before. She was a little impatient because she wanted her dinner but it was nice. I can’t wait to see her again.

The lessons are so much harder because the instructor really is paying attention and making me do stuff and focus the whole time, and pushing me, but I think it’s really good.

I went for a run (C25K W1D2) just before I rode, so I was a bit wobbly the next day but not bad at all. And the park near the new barn has an absolutely wonderful trail, so I’ll probably be doing that more in future.

Leave a Reply

